BART Derailment

A BART derailed Sunday around 9:20am outside of Concord. Best footage here from KTVU helicopter. BART is working through the night tonight effecting repairs.

UPDATE:
More news here and footage from KTVU last night. Though this report says no one was hurt, the original report claimed three people were hurt. It was the 8th and 9th car that derailed of a 10 car slow moving train, exiting the Concord station. As of this morning, Bart has cleared and repaired their tracks where the derailment occurred. I read an eyewitness report of a person who was aboard the train in the first few cars, and he (she?) said the lights went out, and then the conductor announced the train had derailed. The rider had no idea the back part of the train had left the tracks until he/she was informed by the conductor. It was apparently a very non-violent slo-mo wreck. Cudos to BART for getting service restored so quickly.

13 Comments

Filed under BART

13 responses to “BART Derailment

  1. Was the front of the train on the overpass or the back? I couldn’t tell from the video. It could have been a lot worse if it had fallen off of it.

  2. The front was on the overpass, the back (cars 8 and 9 of a 10 car train) is what derailed.

    • Nada

      Thanks for answering Gene. I was so tired when I posted last night, I left out most of the essentials. I’m spending hours glued to computer checking the news of Japan.

      • Pepper Moon

        I’ve been thinking about Scary Monster. Do you remember him? He lived in Japan. I wonder if anyone knows how to contact him? Serena Joy, maybe? I would really like to know he’s okay.

      • Nada

        He’s okay thankfully. I sent you an email.

  3. Pepper Moon

    Any clue what caused it?

    • I don’t think they’ve figured it out yet. But looking at the aerial footage and the relative positions of the cars, it looks kind of like the front of car 8 went left as it was supposed to, but the back went right on the switch.

      @Nada – I’ve been doing a lot of that, too, as well as emailing former colleagues in Japan. Last I heard they were closer to Tokyo, but I haven’t heard back from any of them yet.

      • Nada

        I hope you hear from your friends soon. Perhaps they can’t communicate because of the rolling blackouts?

        Very odd about the BART derailment. Sounds like the switch “switched” when it wasn’t supposed to.

  4. Pepper Moon

    I can see now, after finding your Home page, that I have to subscribe to comments EVERY time. At least now I know.

  5. Nada, Gene, thanks for the clarification.

Leave a Reply

