Frog Snack

These guys were in this bin at a grocery we visited today. I guess you eat their legs. I have to confess when I was growing up on the farm I was all about frog gigging, but to see this bin of critters in a grocery store just made me sad. I wanted to grab them and run for the nearest marsh. I think it was the way they were piled up, just waiting to die. Ugh.

Of course, that didn’t stop me from going to the deli in this store and getting some fried smelts. Let me tell you too, there is nothing worse than a bad fried smelt. Horrible. I got a whole half of pound of those bad boys and then dumped the whole lot of them in the garbage can of the next grocery we visited.

8 Comments

Filed under animal, food

8 responses to “Frog Snack

  1. Some of those frogs look a little small for using their legs. It could just be the photo. You should ask for a sample before buying.

  2. Pepper Moon

    Poor things. I don’t want to think about it. And I don’t understand what the point is of eating something that tastes like chicken. Just eat the chicken.

    Now fried smelt is another story. My dad introduced me to smelt when I was a little girl and he & I would eat an entire platter between us.

  3. Connie

    One question….what is smelt???

    • Nada

      It’s a small fish, kind of like a sardine. You fry the whole fish and eat all of it – head, tail, bones. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

