California Red Backed Jumping Spider

I was sitting on the front porch with the Little Dog when I saw this spider with his lunch, the fly, on the cactus garden wall. And he was doing one of those nasty spidery things where he keeps biting the fly. The scene plays out like he’s shanking the fly with some sort of homemade shiv that’s none too sharp.

“I see what you’re doing there,” I said to the serial murdering spider. All the while the fly’s legs are waving in the air, slower with each passing nanosecond.

I got out my phone/camera to take a picture of the murder scene, and the spider jumped at me. Bastard! Admittedly my hand and camera came pretty close to his back, but still. I almost knocked over the Little Dog getting away. Fortunately, spider buddy didn’t go to spider engineering college because he didn’t figure his trajectory right with that big fat fly in his mouth. I kept my body parts (and camera) away from him after that. Then, rather than walk away with some dignity, he sidled off the edge of the wall sideways with his snack in his mouth. Not that I’m a big fan of flies but seems to me that jumping spider was a total punk.

3 Comments

Filed under Pacifica

3 responses to “California Red Backed Jumping Spider

  1. My wife hates spiders. My name gets yelles out whenever she sees one and I have to go and save her life.

  2. Nada

    I don’t like them either. This guy was fierce. I think if I tried to go after him, he would get me first.

  3. Pepper Moon

    I laughed so hard I snorted.

Leave a Reply

