Hammock Obsessed

The view from the new hammock. Okay, those are not my size 11’s. Those are the Big Guy’s. My feet aren’t visible because they’re under the quilt. At 6′ 5″ the Bug Guy’s feet poke out a bit, because at 6′ 5″ your feet poke out, not just in a hammock. You should see him in shorts. Scary.

We lay in the new hammock for a good 45 minutes until the sun started disappearing and the wind picked up. Even with the quilt, we were getting chilly. The Big Guy went in the house and built a fire. I went on the internet to poke around. I haven’t owned a hammock for 45 years, and I wanted to see if there’d been any evolution or revolution in the hammock industry(?) – as if there is such a thing as a “hammock industry.” That term is pretty much an oxymoron.

I found this beauty on the internet.
She’s single, folding, portable, good reviews, AND $40. How can anyone say, “No” to her, other than we just bought her big brother, and plopped him down in the back yard. He’s hogging most of the room, and seriously – who needs 2 hammocks? Well, maybe we do. We have 2 cars, and I can’t even drive. Maybe we need 3 hammocks – for guests and such. Rather than barbeque, we all get out in the hammocks and star at the sky. Very new age-y. I’ll call it Hammock Ranch. Come. Lay in our hammocks at Hammock Ranch. Find yourself amongst the hammocks…the size 11’s, a few raccoons, and a half dozen barking dogs.

18 Comments

Filed under general weirdness

18 responses to “Hammock Obsessed

  1. I bet that $40 hammock wouldn’t hold the Big Guy and it sure as H. wouldn’t hold the two of you!

  2. Pepper Moon

    I have a hammock, and it is one of the most awesome, relaxing, treasured things I own! I LOVE my hammock. My new yard is the size of a postage stamp and the hammock takes up most of it, but I don’t care. No matter how stressed I am, it gives me instant peace. I’m still trying to figure out how to set one up in a bedroom as a guest bed. Now I want to go get on mine right now. See what you’ve done? I know y’all will love yours just as much.

    • Nada

      I spent hours reading on the internet and you would be surprised how many people are using hammocks for full time sleeping arrangements instead of conventional beds. They are so relaxing.

  3. A hammock is great. I haven’t been on one in years, but I remember how relaxing it was.

    • Nada

      I had one when I was a kid on the farm and wanted one ever since. I don’t really know what was stopping me from getting another one. Doesn’t seem like hammock “technology” has changed much.

  4. The boys would both be fine in a that cheap hammock because they weigh NOTHING! And yes, they are so old now, they can stay by themselves, especially with close family friends. Between the beach and the video games, you will never get rid of them.

  5. Pepper Moon

    You did it. I went and lay in the hammock after turning the computer off last night. The temperature was perfect, a nice breeze was blowing. I woke up at 2:30 in the morning and came in the house.

  6. AZ

    Well, of course, just the other day I read a story about a teenage girl that was killed lying in a hammock. She and her friend tied the hammock between two trees, and unknown to them one of the tree’s interior was rotten. Both of them crawled into the hammock and one of the trees fell over and killed the girl, I think the boy survived, but with significant injuries. Soooo, I’m gonna wait until my memory fades before I lay in a hammock; the good thing is my memory is so bad I’ll have absolutely no recollection of the story in two or three days.

    • Nada

      OH! And then I checked the internet. There have been quite a few deaths by hammocks, one kid by strangulation. Nothing is safe. Looks like the rope hammocks are worse in the death toll than cloth.

      • AZ

        I noticed quite a few hammocks come with stands now, I guess trees are not safe enough anymore. I wonder if people sue the hammock company when a loved one dies in one?

      • Nada

        I suppose they do. the worse one was some baby died. Who leaves a baby in a hammock. Sheesh.

  7. Pepper Moon

    Mine is on a stand. I do not want to read about the deaths. I do worry that my kitties could strangle themselves, but I’ve never seen them attempt to get on it unless I am already there.

    • Nada

      We always had hammocks on the farm and several cats. They avoided the hammocks though they were really fond of the roof of the dog house. Go figure. The dogs hated them walking around up there and if they were inside at the time, they would launch themselves out the dog house door and bark like no tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

