The Easter Slug

The Easter Slug came today and slimed the back yard. Thanks Easter Slug. See ya next year.

Shortly after the slug’s departure I ate a butt load of powder sugar covered brownies. I have an appointment with my GP on Friday to review the results of last week’s blood tests. If my cholesterol isn’t any lower, I’m going to tell my GP I don’t know why. I’m going to lie because what is the point of telling him on Easter Sunday, I ate prime rib, potatoes, truffle butter, and a butt load of brownies. I’m going to tell him I don’t know what’s up with my cholesterol and blame the phenobarbital. Then, he will ask me about the prescription he gave me for lowering my cholesterol and I will tell him either it hurt my legs or my stomach and he will say, “Oh so you don’t want to do anything about your high cholesterol.”

I do, but I don’t want to do it if I can’t eat brownies helter skelter like they’re the last brownies on this planet.

9 Comments

Filed under food, medical

9 responses to “The Easter Slug

  1. The easter slug. Look like a big one.

  2. You should have taken that slug’s photo next to the Little Dog — so we could see that it was bigger!

  3. AZ

    I got so wrapped up trying to put pictures on Facebook I almost missed Sluggo, what’s that hole on the side of Sluggo? Never mind, I’m gonna Google or Bing banana slugs and see it they have an explanation for that hole.

    • AZ

      “The pneumostome (or breathing pore) is a feature (the respiratory opening) of the external body anatomy of an air-breathing land slug or land snail. It is a part of the respiratory system of gastropods.” Who knew? I guess Wikipedia does!

      • Nada

        I thought it was his hearing hole, but then he really couldn’t hear very well when we saw him. Now I know – breathing pore. I think he needs a veil over the thing honestly.

  4. Pepper Moon

    Hate to tell you this, but cholesterol meds make neither your legs, nor your stomach, nor anything else hurt.

    I want to know where to get truffle butter.

    I don’t like slugs. They eat my hostas. Send me your egg shells.

    • Nada

      From the Mayo clinic.
      http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/statin-side-effects/MY00205
      The statins can do permanent muscle damage. Granted, the stomach issues are rarer, but the first statin he tried me on, killed the muscles in my legs and the second one, which was a different action, made me puke.

      The Big Guy got that truffle butter somewhere. I’ve quit eating it because of the cholesterol issue, and my weight gain. No butter. No sugar. No cokes. No candy. Of course, the Big Guy just eats whatever he wants, and he’s just fine.

      What’s with egg shells?

Leave a Reply

