Paragliding in Pacifica

The Big Guy and I drove to a bluff, stopped, and parked to watch these model radio controlled gliders. They are flying wings without engines, and the radio controls their flaps only. They look like barn swallows dipping back and forth with the occasional clack, where one of them has bumped another. While we were watching that aerial ballet, I heard a noise behind us on the cliffside like someone threw down a sack of groceries. It was this paraglider. Unbeknownst to us, the paraglider dropped out of the sky while we were watching the radio controlled gliders. Our conversation went like this:
Me: Where’d he come from?
The Big Guy: He must have walked up behind us.
Me: As in “sneaked?”
The Big Guy: No, like drove a car, got out, threw down his chute and…”

Right then, things went a bit South. The wind inflated his shoot, and deflated it. He got dragged a bit more toward the edge. He struggled with the lines. At this point, I thought, “Gee, he needs some help.” But honestly, I had no clue what to do. I had a brief vision of me trying to be the good Samaritan, and taking us both to the cliff bottom with a resounded thud.

Then, he took off again. Just like that. We jumped in the Buick and followed him around the cliff facing on a little rough road. On the other side, there were several paragliders floating around, bouncing off the hillside. Beautiful. Interesting. Weird. But honestly, how do you train to do something that?

My obituary? “She moved from Oakland to Pacifica were she splattered herself on a cliff side one Saturday afternoon, learning to paraglide.” No. I don’t want to end like that – the human pancake. I want to end it with some high cholesterol so we drove to Mazzetti’s Bakery and bought a piece of Red Velvet cake, and ate that for dinner while watching Iron Man 2.

6 Comments

Filed under Pacifica

6 responses to “Paragliding in Pacifica

  1. How can that paragliding possibly be safe? It looks incredibly alarming.

    • Nada

      It looks alarming to me to so to reassure myself of its safety I got on the internet to look at some videos. DON’T DO THAT. Mostly crashes on the internet. I’m more alarmed than before.

  2. Wow, that was neat. I took a wind surfing lesson once. Rented a board for use in a local lake. First and last time. I wasn’t cut out for it.

  3. AZ

    If God wanted me to skid off a cliff he’d a made me a goose. Having said that I have to relate my only gliding story; it was the ex, the Southern boy, he decided hang gliding sounded like fun, so he signed up for a class, he made it through class, he made it through the field trip where he learned to jump off platforms suspended from wires, then on the day he was to solo his instructor hitched him up to the glider, Southern boy lifted the glider off the ground and proceeded to run toward the cliff, all his classmates were there to cheer him on, when he was a few feet away from this date with death, he stopped… took off the harness… turned and walked to his car… got in and drove away. The boy wasn’t as stupid as I thought.

Leave a Reply

