F’n Migraine

This is going to be a whiney, self absorbed post. You have been forewarned. Skip it to save yourself. It may be cathartic for me, and then, it may be another line of bullshite, that does no one any good.

SO…Tuesday before last, that would be July 12, 2011, I had a tooth filled. You can’t give epinephrine to an epileptic so they gave me something called polocaine, which works about as well as kick in the shin. And so I got home and the tooth pain initiated the week of the endless migraine. As soon as the migraine flaired, I tried some new drugs I do not recommend to anyone – Maxalt and Fiorcet, because 1) the injectible Sumatriptan makes me ill and 2) it is impossible to get the injectible Sumatriptan delivered in a timely fashion through through my HMO HealthNet and their injectible (non) delivery pharmacy CuraScript.

Then, I was not eating much because of the migraine, so the Big Guy got some beef chow fun thinking I would eat that. I ate 5 bucketfuls. Right after that, the migraine flaired up so bad, I had to go to the ER, and though I know I was drugged that ER doc was a something out of a zombie movie. She was about 60 with long hair and had painted black eye liner under her eyes but with about a 1/4 inch gap between her lower lid and the line. Her breath would knock you down at 50 paces. She gave me 2 bags of fluids and some compazine – a worthless drug that either gave me the heeby jeebies or all the barbituates (Maxalt and Fiorcet) did. The problem with barbituates is if they don’t stop the pain, then you need more to try to stop it, so I was eating the Maxalt and Fiorcet like a barbituate trail mix or possible narcotic M&Ms. Somewhere between the M&Ms I ate the chow fun. It was a sick thing that went on with these drugs and this migraine (and possibly the chow fun).

Sometime in the drug haze and migraine, I called my neurologist, who started the referral process to another neurologist who could do an occipital nerve block – the one thing that is instant death to migraines. I am posting this doctor’s name here because he is a God send, and I think there are other hopelessly hideous migraine sufferers out there that can benefit from his expertise.
Dr. Eric Denys
2100 Webster Suite 416
San Francisco, CA 94115
(415) 923-3055

Tuesday, I saw him and he killed the migraine – INSTANTLY. Don’t ask me how this works because I can’t explain it. Dr. Denys can. Unfortunately, my heart started malfunctioning in a weird skip hop beat sort of way that reminds me of cardiac hokey pokey. Dr. Denys wrote a note to my GP, and I dropped it by his office, but I haven’t heard from him. I want to say, “The End” but I’m sure there’s more…

6 Comments

Filed under migraine

6 responses to “F’n Migraine

  1. Liette

    I am so sorry for all of your hardcore pain ;( Remember, Drugs are your friends when you have a bad migraine…at least that is what I tell myself. Keep on smiling!

    • Nada

      I try to think drugs are my friend but they are usually frenenemies with me. The occipital nerve block is the best – and no side effects.

  2. This sounds like the ride of a life time on the worst roller coaster ever built. Glad the migraine stopped, but sorry for the rest of the story. Hang in there.

  3. Do we know if that Chinese place where the Big Guy got the Chow Fun uses MSG? That could have caused the migraine to get much worse. Plus, chocolate and red meat are both bad for the head. I sure hope that’s the last killer headache for a good long time. That was a doozy. How do you spell doozy? I like this spelling but the computer disagrees.

    • Nada

      We do not know if the Chinese food had MSG, but it probably did. No telling if it helped or hurt, but it did keep me from starving. Saved by Chinese food. Yes, that last headache was a mother fubber.

Leave a Reply

