Things That Go Bump in the Night

A couple of nights ago, a bottom piece of wood to a kitchen cabinet fell off, hit some vinegar bottles siting on the kitchen counter, and fell onto the floor. It was the middle of the night. We were asleep and the noise sounded as if the house had been hit by a meteorite. The Big Guy launched himself bleary eyed from bed, and daddy long-legged into the kitchen, yelling all the while, “What was that? What was that? What was that?”

“I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know,” I replied.

So he said again, “What was that?”

And then, we saw the wood piece to the cabinet in the middle of the kitchen floor. Instead of manna from heaven it was a wood piece from God-knows-where. We had to search around to figure out what happened.

Then, last night apparently we had a mid-night raid by some sort of giant raccoon who is able to turn over Recology trash cans and sort through the delicacies discarded therein. This is what the raccoon decided he liked:
Stale Hamburger buns – DELICIOUS! Sliced the bag open. Ate all of them. Left bread crumbs everywhere.
Egg Shells – Not so much. Ate one. Crushed another.
Spoiled Turkey Cutlet – Cut the bag. Took a whiff. Left it behind.
Little Dog Poo in pick up bags – Sorted through all the bags. Piled them up. Did not open a single one. (No dummy. Little Dog may be little but her poo is lethal)

9 Comments

Filed under animal, general weirdness, little dog

9 responses to “Things That Go Bump in the Night

  1. Raccoons can be a problem. Read this article and you get a laugh about what has happened in Germany.

    http://www.dw-world.de/dw/article/0,,1390574,00.html

  2. Nada

    I laughed though it’s really not funny. Who in their right mind would introduce raccoons into a place, where they weren’t? I laughed really hard at the Brits calling the critters “Nazi raccoons.” Personal friends of Hitler I suppose. Lol!

  3. How tidy of the raccoons to stack up the poo bags. Do you think it’s that big Mofo you waved a shotgun at the other night?

  4. AZ

    Talk about shootin’ way way back when we lived in Shooter’s World, I discovered we had a gopher in the backyard. You know me; I love all little critters, and when he dug a hole in my yard I thought: “Oh how cute a little gopher to call my own!” Then the next morning there was 13 holes in my yard and I thought: Hum? Maybe cute little gopher ain’t so cute after all.” So I was standing at the kitchen window washing dishes and I noticed dirt flying out of the gopher hole, then it would shop, then it would start again, and so it went for about 15 minutes. So the next time the dirt stopped flying out of the hole I started counting and 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9… Then more dirt, count again, then more dirt. So I went to the bedroom and got a pellet gun, went outside and sat on the porch. I aimed at the dirt pile and counted when I reached 9 I pulled the trigger. I started counting again and this time when I reached 9 nothing happened. So I got up and looked in the hole and sure nuff one dead gopher. I AM THE GOPHER HUNTER!!!

    Smart Raccoon to sort out the poo, maybe they should hire a bunch of Raccoons to work at the recycle center.

    • Nada

      You ARE the gopher hunter. I can’t imagine hitting one of those critters with a garbage can lid. They are small and quick.

      I laughed about the raccoons at the recycle center, but they would work perfectly there. I can see them all lined up, sorting.

    • Hey, AZ, you are welcome to stop by. Just don’t bring the pellet gun.

      • AZ

        Hi Steve, I’ve been reading “Visitors” but am still at a loss for comments, still in an emotional slump. I’ve given up on my coupons, shopping for groceries, I’m a mess, I need to start a journal and write down the positives in my life, right now I’m letting the negatives rule — not good, not good at all. Don’t give up on me, I will return in time.

      • AZ, wishing the best for you. When you are in the mood and feel better your are welcome.

Leave a Reply

