My Claim Against Chicago Public Radio

Almost 2 1/2 years ago on 3/17/2009, I wrote Chicago Public Radio a check for $50. Why? Because they asked me for money. They said they needed it. This American Life was having a fund drive, and I like the radio show. Really like it. So, I wrote them a check with some of the $$$ from my disability check. Yep.

And now, this is where it gets weird. They refused to cash the check. Why? You tell me. For the next 6 months, I tried to find out, in vane, why Chicago Public Radio so desperately needed money, just not from me. I tried emailing them. Nada. Vista de nada to be exact. So, after a year I credited the $50 back to my account, and realized Chicago Public Radio might need money, but they don’t want it from me. So be it.

Then, last week on 7/25/2011, someone endorsed that check as 1545019 MM 10 and took it to Bank of America in Chicago, and B of A accepted it. It ran through B of A and the $50 got jerked out of my bank account. I’m sorry, Chicago Public Radio, if you don’t want my $$$ when I write you the check, after 2 1/2 years, you are no longer welcome to it. I filed a claim.

4 Comments

Filed under Chicago Public Radio

4 responses to “My Claim Against Chicago Public Radio

  1. That is weird. Over two years. Did they ask for interest on it?

  2. I’m amazed the bank accepted it. My bank won’t take anything over 30 days, as far as I know. I would definitely fight that.

  3. Nada

    B of A should not have run it through. THat’s for sure

Leave a Reply

