Mantis

We apparently had another earthquake yesterday with the epicenter in the same general area as the last two. I did not feel it. I was jogging again on the treadmill. Out of the last 3 earthquakes, I didn’t feel 2 of them because I was jogging. Coincidence? Let’s hope so. I would hate to think I’m causing a shift in the tectonic plates because of thunder thighs.

This bug is the latest acquisition to my collection. He’s a praying mantis made from palm leaves. A visiting friend bought him for me from a vendor in China Town. This guy is my #1 favorite right now in my collection. #2 belongs to the cockroach perched on the light switch right as you come in the house. He’s scared more people. And I appreciate the work he does there.

6 Comments

Filed under california, insect

6 responses to “Mantis

  1. That’s some piece of art. Looks real to me.

  2. AZ

    The mantis looks so real I’d probably swat it if someone put on my shoulder. I don’t think thunder thighs can cause the earth to move, because if they did Arizona would have slipped into oblivion years ago.

    • Nada

      I don’t think Arizona has a lot of earthquakes, does it? No. That’s because the original thunder thighs (moi) lives in California. Tectonic plates don’t stand a chance.

  3. What a gorgeous mantis. I thought it was real. What a nice friend you have! I have a friend in Turkey whom I “met” online years ago when I lived in Colorado. Recently, we became reacquainted. He travels for his job, and sends me postcards from all over Europe. I’m getting a really nice collection! Every time I open my mailbox and find one, it makes my life a little better to know that someone cared enough to take the time for me. Wish I had a bug friend, too!

    p.s. it’s not you…it’s the treadmill.

  4. Nada

    What fun!!! Postcards from all over the world. They are little treasures that appear willy nilly in your mailbox.

    I am going jogging today. I’ll let you know if another quake hits.

Leave a Reply

