Ants! ARG!

We’ve had some rain here lately. Not a lot, but enough to make the ants come in the house. No, this is not Oakland – ant heaven. I thought (erroneously) we had escaped this problem when we moved. Here are the little bastards feeding on cracker crumbs left behind from my middle of the night grazing. ARG!! Die already.

When I got up this morning, the Big Guy shouted at me, “Don’t lean on the counter.” Too late. I leaned on it while I was pouring my first cup of coffee. The ants are perfectly camouflaged on the black granite. I have been picking ants off of myself for 2 hours now – in my hair, on the back of my neck, on my keyboard, on my hand, on my sweatshirt. Thankfully they are not the biting kind like the ones in Arizona. They are just friendly ants looking for something sweet, but still…DIE ALREADY!

6 Comments

Filed under damn ants

6 responses to “Ants! ARG!

  1. Sorry about those critters. They can and are a pain, You need to buy an Anteater or borrow one from the zoo. Tell the zoo you’ll provide free food.

  2. Nada

    LOL!!! The SF zoo has some grand ant eaters too. I wouldn’t mind borrowing one for the weekend.

  3. I hate ants. In good news, the counter is very photogenic!

  4. AZ

    Every once in a while I get piss ants in my kitchen, we have our house sprayed regularly, and my OCD renders my kitchen crumbless, so I don’t know why they come in, other than to escape the summer heat. I agree your counter is beautiful, but you’d think the ants wouldn’t be able to climb up on them because granite is so smooth, but then again I once saw an ant on the 22nd floor of the Chase Bank Building in Phoenix, I still can’t figure out how that ant reached the elevator buttons.

Leave a Reply

