The Super Collider of Sofas

I was wandering around San Francisco today and found this sofa in Macy’s. The more I looked at it, the more I realized it was the Hadron Collider of sofas. I got anxious looking at it, like something other than particles were going to collide on it, like large behinds of a bay area book club. And it’s white leather. The fashion rule should be: Don’t wear white shoes after Labor Day and NEVER put white leather on a super collider sofa. Black:yes. White:no.

16 Comments

Filed under general weirdness

16 responses to “The Super Collider of Sofas

  1. lindapolsby

    absolutely unreal.

    Did you know that Lisa and family all went to the Fermi Lab at 2 a.m. the morning of the CERN announcement and heard it in person? They’re into all that particle stuff.

  2. Wow. That is so ugly. What were they thinking? It almost looks as if you stumbled into the future.

    • Nada

      Funny you said that. There was apparently some guy hanging around the Hadron Collider in Switzerland claiming he was from the future. I think he was in pork pie too.

      • I bet that future guy got sucked through by accident…That is one powerful collider! They kept my nephews up till 2 a.m. for the teleconference at Ferme lab where their Dad works with Cerne. I hope that’s not what made Smed sick.

      • Nada

        That was recent they went to Ferme lab. I thought it was a few months back. No telling what made Smed sick. Hope he is better

  3. Vicki

    Trying to imagine who could use this and how. Your very own set for a morning talk show? The Knights of the Semicircle? If it were a full circle it would be great for a small dog run, and you could set up an obstacle course in it too. A collider for chihuahuas? I think I’ll stop imagining now and just agree that it’s weird.

    • Nada

      lol…I like chihuahua collider…running and running on the white sofa.

      I agree, though – it is simply weird…and in Macy’s. In downtown San Francisco.

  4. I’m sure they don’t want any God particles staining the white leather.

  5. AZ

    I just typed a huge comment and I touched my keyboard and it disappeared. Damn! I wonder what I touched, it wasn’t the delete key. Any who I’ll do the condensed version of my comment: The couch sucks!

    • Nada

      I keep wanting to think it sucks too but then, I think, it is some extraordinary feat of sofa construction. I think if i saw it in a modern art museum somewhere I would admire it.

  6. The Chihuahua collider. I like that.

Leave a Reply

