San Francisco Ferry

The Big Guy and I went to Sausalito on Labor Day on the ferry. We wandered around the village there, scarfed up some ice cream, and then, motored back. I do love a good ferry ride on the bay. There have 2 main lines now – the Golden Gate Ferries and the Blue and Gold. They go different places. There’s not much signage about what is going on. The tourists complain. If I hadn’t been on the ferries a whole lot when I was volunteering at Alcatraz, I probably would have complained too. But here’s the deal. You get what you get. The boats are in shabby condition. I don’t care what the pictures look like on the internet. The main thing is YOU’RE AT SEA, Matie. Okay. Maybe the main thing is you’re puttering around on the water in a beat up boat in the sun. Still. It’s fun.

4 Comments

Filed under San Francisco, travel

4 responses to “San Francisco Ferry

  1. I sure wish they would have MORE ferries — and water taxis the way they do in other cities. I love a ferry myself. It’s the most calming way to commute to work. We need more boats!

  2. My wife has loved Sausalito since our last visit there many many years ago.

Leave a Reply

