Encephalomalacia

That $5 word means brain mush. Yup. Mashed potatoes in the cabeza. That word showed up on the radiology report from my MRI of the brain, as in “There is a minor degree of signal abnormality on chronic basis at the right occipital pole, which is unchanged and most likely represents a minimal amount of encephalomalacia.

So, I’m thinking how bad can it be? Really? This encephalomalacia? Who else has it. I found this
Figure 1 a 37-year-old male who was thrown from a man lift
Figure 2 a 61-year-old male who fell from a scaffold
Figure 3 a gentleman who had prolonged exposure to toluene diisocyanate
Figure 4 a lady who claimed brain injury from a bus accident
Figure 5 a 19-year-old young man who was involved in a rollover automobile accident
Figure 6 a 39-year-old woman who was a passenger in a vehicle struck by a cement truck
Figure 7 This person is demented
Figure 8 CT image of a person made after boxes fell and struck his head in a distribution center
Figure 9 CT represents blood within the left brain following a gunshot wound to the top of the head
Figure 10 a 20-year-old college student who sustained a head-on collision

A Who’s Who of Brain Injuries. I should send in my MRI with a note – “Angry old woman whose had a village idiot for a neurosurgeon.”

9 Comments

Filed under brain, medical

9 responses to “Encephalomalacia

  1. You’re not an old woman yet. But I agree that the crew above is a pretty motley one.

  2. AZ

    Jeebus! I don’t think I’ll ever leave the house again, oh wait… I think I read that most accidents involving the elderly happen in the bathroom at home… I’M DOOMED!

  3. AZ, better to have an accident in the bathroom, then have the accident while rushing to get to a bathroom. Nada that’s a five dollar word I don’t wish on anybody.

    • AZ

      Hi Steve, I’ve been MIA on your blog for quite a while, but I have a photo project going on (I inherited several albums from family members who died recently). I’m trying to finish scanning and repairing the photos before I die. I’ve been looking at your scamps but not commenting — I’m a bad girl.

    • Nada

      Yeah, I wish I could retract it from my MRI. The occipital pole is mush…almost like the ice is melting at the north pole – or something.

Leave a Reply

